Sauna Kit and Heater Prices in Toronto: What Is Actually in the Box (2026)

Last updated: By The SaunaIndex Bench

An unassembled sauna kit on a workshop floor: stacked precut cedar wall panels and bench planks, a black heater beside a loose pile of grey sauna stones, and a glass sauna door leaning against the wall.

According to Sauna Depot (Canadian retailer; currency not declared on the page), harvia electric sauna heater, 1.9 kW to 4.5 kW, Canadian retail list price runs $1,268.00–$1,916.00 per heater, CAD in the Greater Toronto Area. Add 13% HST, and read the full sauna kit table below for the line items behind that range.

A kit price is a materials price. It covers the panels or precut lumber, usually a heater and stones, and a door, and it stops there. Delivery, carrying it to where it goes, assembly and any electrical work are separate, and the electrical must be done by a licensed electrician regardless of who supplies the kit. Compare kits on what is in the box, then add those lines yourself.

What do kits, heaters and stoves cost, and what is not in the box?

This range rests on 9 independent named sources and 17 priced rows, 8 Canadian and 1 American. Each row names the page it came from and links to it. None of the 17 has yet been through the second pass that re-reads the source sentence from cached bytes and records the condition the source attached, so treat these as sourced but not re-verified, and follow the link before you rely on one. Where sources disagreed we show both rather than average them. The 4 rows that came from a US source are labelled and priced in US dollars, and they are never folded into a Canadian range.

What the box costs by itself, heater by heater and kit by kit, before anything is delivered or wired. None of them can be drawn to scale here: 17 carry no re-verified source sentence. Every figure is in the table below with the source it came from, which is the same evidence a bar would have rested on.

Sauna Kit costs in the Greater Toronto Area, August 2026: 17 priced rows from 9 named sources, each linked to the page it cites, none yet re-read from a cached copy of it. Canadian dollars. Ontario HST of 13% sits on top unless a row says otherwise.
ItemTypical range
Harvia electric sauna heater, 1.9 kW to 4.5 kW, Canadian retail list priceSauna Depot (Canadian retailer; currency not declared on the page)$1,268.00–$1,916.00typically $1,300.00per heater, CAD
Harvia electric sauna heater, 6 kW to 9 kW, Canadian retail list priceSauna Depot (Canadian retailer; currency not declared on the page)$1,763.00–$2,864.00typically $1,947.00per heater, CAD
Harvia electric sauna heater, 10 kW to 16 kW, Canadian retail list priceSauna Depot (Canadian retailer; currency not declared on the page)$2,190.00–$4,776.00typically $3,001.00per heater, CAD
Harvia Virta Combi heater (sauna heater with a water reservoir), 9 kW to 10.5 kW, Canadian retailSauna Depot (Canadian retailer; currency not declared on the page)$4,746.00–$4,819.00typically $4,746.00per heater, CAD
Heater supplied as a kit with its controller, Canadian retailCalore Health and Wellness (Canada), prices in CAD$1,337.11–$4,127.97typically $2,782.98per kit, CAD
Sauna LED light kit, Canadian retailCalore Health and Wellness (Canada), prices in CAD$399.00–$399.00typically $399.00per kit, CAD
Sauna accessory bundle, Canadian retailCalore Health and Wellness (Canada), prices in CAD$999.00–$999.00typically $999.00per bundle, CAD
Prefab indoor Finnish sauna kit, 4 ft x 5 ft to 5 ft x 7 ft, kit onlyRenoHouse (Toronto) - Basement Sauna Installation 2026$5,000–$12,000typically $5,000per kit, CAD
Prefab indoor Finnish sauna kit, 6 ft x 8 ft to 8 ft x 8 ft, kit onlyRenoHouse (Toronto) - Basement Sauna Installation 2026$8,000–$18,000typically $8,000per kit, CAD
Entry-level complete sauna seating 1 to 2 people, Ontario supplierSaunaFin (Concord, ON)$2,000–$2,000typically $2,000starting price, CAD (source states "just over $2000")
Complete sauna seating 6 to 8 people, Ontario supplierSaunaFin (Concord, ON)$8,000–$12,000typically $8,000per sauna, CAD
Outdoor barrel sauna kit, Canadian Timber line, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$7,509.00–$8,226.00typically $7,751.00per kit, CAD
Outdoor cabin sauna kit, Canadian Timber line, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$8,066.10–$9,909.00typically $9,736.00per kit, CAD
Wood-burning sauna stove, Harvia M3 alone up to the complete kit with chimney and stones (US source, USD)Topture (US retailer, Sheridan WY) - figures in USDUS$969–US$2,580typically US$969per stove or kit, USD inferred from a US retailer (the page does not state a currency)
HUUM HIVE Mini electric heater (US source)Topture (US retailer, Sheridan WY) - figures in USDUS$2,502–US$2,785typically US$2,502per heater, USD inferred from a US retailer (the page does not state a currency)
HUUM UKU controller (US source, USD)Topture (US retailer, Sheridan WY) - figures in USDUS$1,000–US$2,250typically US$1,000per controller, USD inferred from a US retailer (the page does not state a currency)
Sauna stone set (US source, USD)Topture (US retailer, Sheridan WY) - figures in USDUS$60–US$120typically US$60per set, USD inferred from a US retailer (the page does not state a currency)

What is in the box, and what is not?

A kit price is a materials price. Every line in the right-hand column is real work that still has to happen and still has to be paid for, and none of it is on the product page you are reading the kit price from.

In the box

What the kit price covers.

  • The panels, or the precut lumber
  • Usually a heater and stones
  • A door
  • And it stops there

Not in the box

Add these yourself before comparing two kits.

  • Delivery, and carrying it to where it goes
  • Assembly
  • Any electrical work, by a licensed electrician regardless of who supplied the kit
  • A controller, lighting and bench hardware, all priced on their own
The box, and everything the box is not. Drawn from this guide's own opening paragraph and cost factors. What each of the right-hand lines costs is a separate question, and where this site has a sourced figure for one it is in the table above.

What drives the price?

Shape, size and finish set the sticker price, but the electrical run, the base and whether delivery and assembly are included are what actually separate two sauna kit quotes for the same job. Each factor below is tied to a figure in the table above.

  • Heater output in kW, which is set by the room volume, not by preference.
  • Model line. At 6 kW the same Canadian retailer's range spans $1,763.00 to $2,602.00 depending on the heater family.
  • Whether controls are built into the heater or bought separately. Built-in controls add roughly $300 on the same family.
  • Whether the heater is a combi unit with a water reservoir, which roughly doubles the price at the same kW.
  • Kit footprint. A prefab Finnish kit for a 4 ft x 5 ft room starts at $5,000; a 6 ft x 8 ft to 8 ft x 8 ft kit starts at $8,000.
  • Wood species and grade in the kit, which is the main separator between the low and high end of any kit range.
  • Electric versus wood-fired. A wood stove avoids the 240V circuit entirely but adds a chimney, stones and clearances.
  • Accessories bought separately: stones, a controller, lighting and bench hardware are all priced on their own.

What's specific to Ontario and Toronto?

Three Ontario rules cost real money here: 13% HST on top of every price below, an ESA Notification of Work filed by a licensed contractor before any new circuit, and a City of Toronto building permit for an accessory structure over 10 square metres. Each is quoted from its own source below.

  • A kit is not a finished sauna. In Toronto a permit is required when you "Frame new walls (partition a basement room). Install new electrical circuits" (RenoHouse), and that firm adds "even prefab Finnish kits trigger a permit because of the framing and 240V circuit."
  • Heater certification is a hard requirement: "ESA requires sauna heaters to be CSA-certified or UL-listed for the Canadian market" (RenoHouse, Toronto). Check this before importing a heater from outside Canada.
  • The Ontario Electrical Safety Code requires "a timed cut-off switch on sauna heaters, set to a maximum of one hour with no override" (Ottawa Electric), so the control you buy has to support it.
  • Circuit sizing follows the heater: "A 6 kW heater at 240V draws 25A, so code requires a breaker rated at least 150% of that - typically a 40A breaker with 8-gauge wire" (Ottawa Electric).
  • Heater size range for a home: "Heater sizes range from about 3.5 kW for a small room up to 9 kW or more for a large sauna" (Ottawa Electric).
  • A Licensed Electrical Contractor must install the circuit and file the ESA Notification of Work. RenoHouse publishes the minimum residential fee at about $88 for 2026.
  • Ontario HST is 13%. Sauna Depot's listing shows an "Inc. Vat" label that is not an Ontario HST statement, so confirm with the retailer.
  • Cross-border ordering can look cheaper on the sticker and lose the difference to duty, exchange and a heater that is not certified for Canada. Price the delivered, certified cost.

How can I pay less?

The biggest saving is comparing like with like: a kit price and a delivered-and-installed price are not the same number, and the gap is usually thousands. After that it is siting, timing and asking what a quoted figure already includes. Every tip below points at a figure in the table.

  • Compare heaters at the kW you actually need, not by brand. At 6 kW the spread across one Canadian retailer's range is $839 for the same output.
  • Skip built-in controls if you are fitting a separate controller anyway. That is roughly $300 on the same heater family.
  • Only buy a combi heater if you want the water reservoir. At 9 kW it is roughly double the price of a standard heater.
  • Size the room before you size the heater. Going up a kW step costs money twice, once on the heater and once on the circuit.
  • Buy the heater and stones together if the retailer bundles them. Stones are a small line item but they are not optional.
  • Check the CSA or UL certification before you order from outside Canada. An uncertified heater is a heater your electrician cannot energize.
  • Get the kit and the installation quoted separately so you can see which half is actually expensive.
  • Confirm whether the listed price includes Ontario HST. On a $4,776.00 heater, 13% is $620.88.

How did we research these numbers?

Every price on this page was found in the cited page's own text before it was published, and each row records the sentence it came from. Where a source could not be read, or priced in a currency other than Canadian dollars, the row was removed rather than converted or estimated. Here is what that left, and what it cost us.

  • The "typical" column on this page is always a figure one of the cited sources actually published, never an average we calculated. Where a source gave only a range, typical is the published endpoint we could stand behind.
  • Heaters are the one sauna component with genuinely transparent Canadian pricing. Sauna Depot publishes a full Harvia price ladder in CAD, from $1,268.00 for a 1.9 kW Vega Compact up to $4,776.00 for a 16 kW Virta Pro.
  • Within the same kW rating, the model line matters more than the output. At 6 kW, Sauna Depot lists The Wall at $1,763.00, the Cilindro at $1,947.00, the KIP at $1,965.00, the Cilindro with built-in controls at $2,249.00 and the Spirit at $2,602.00. That is a $839 spread at identical output.
  • Built-in controls are worth roughly $300 on the same heater family. The 6 kW Cilindro is $1,947.00 without built-in controls and $2,249.00 with them at the same retailer.
  • A heater bought as a kit with its controller is a different price class again. Calore lists a wall heater kit at $1,337.11 CAD and a heater with a Wi-Fi controller at $4,127.97 CAD.
  • Room kits and complete saunas are priced very differently by channel. SaunaFin in Concord ON states "the cheapest saunas, which seat 1-2 individuals, cost just over $2000. The most expensive saunas, which can seat upwards of 6-8 people, can range anywhere from $8000-$12000." A Toronto contractor prices prefab Finnish kits at $5,000 to $18,000 depending on footprint.
  • Sauna Depot's listing never writes CAD or USD. It labels every price "Inc. Vat", a UK and EU tax string rather than an Ontario HST one, and its own analytics tag declares USD. We have left the figures as published and stopped short of naming a currency. Confirm both the currency and whether HST is included before you budget.
  • Wood stoves, controllers and stone sets on this page come from Topture, a US retailer, and are in USD. No Canadian retailer we fetched published a stove or stone price we could quote. Topture states no currency on the page, so USD is inferred from its Sheridan WY address. A Canadian visitor also sees "Canada (CAD $)" selected in its footer, so the number on screen when you click through may not be the currency we have labelled.

Sources

Who should you call about sauna kit work?

SaunaIndex tracks 38 sauna companies across the Greater Toronto Area, rated 4.6★ on average. The three below rank highest on our review-weighted score, based on SaunaIndex's analysis of 38 Greater Toronto Area businesses, August 2026. Each profile carries its own quote request.

  • SONCE HOMES, photograph from its own Google Business listing

    SONCE HOMES

    Serves East Gwillimbury · Builds and installs · Every day, hours vary by day

    • Saunas
    • Says it is licensed
    • Says it is insured

    Builds saunas · 4 photos on its Google listing

    5.049 reviewsRated 5.0 out of 5 from 49 Google reviews

    77/100 SaunaIndex Score

  • SaunaFin, photograph from its own Google Business listing

    SaunaFin

    Serves Vaughan · Retailer · Mon to Fri, hours vary by day

    • Saunas
    • Cold Plunge & Ice Baths
    • Says it has been going since 1962
    • Says it stocks TyloHelo

    Sells saunas and cold plunge & ice baths · 4 photos on its Google listing

    4.6211 reviewsRated 4.6 out of 5 from 211 Google reviews

    75/100 SaunaIndex Score

  • Sauna Central, photograph from its own Google Business listing

    Sauna Central

    Serves Vaughan · Builds and installs · Hours not listed

    • Saunas
    • Cold Plunge & Ice Baths
    • Says it stocks Harvia

    Builds saunas and cold plunge & ice baths · 4 photos on its Google listing

    5.0209 reviewsRated 5.0 out of 5 from 209 Google reviews

    75/100 SaunaIndex Score

See all 38 sauna companies on SaunaIndex

What do these pricing terms mean?

Most of the confusion in sauna kit quotes comes from a handful of words that look interchangeable and are not. These are the ones that change the number.

Heater output
The kilowatt rating of the stove, set by the volume of the room rather than by preference. It is the number to fix first, because going up a step costs money twice, once on the heater and once on the circuit it needs.
Combi heater
A heater with a water reservoir built into it. At the same output it prices roughly double a plain heater, so it is worth knowing whether a quote assumed one before comparing it with another.
Separate controller
The control unit bought apart from the heater rather than built into it. Built-in controls carry a premium on the same family, so the two configurations are only comparable once the controller is counted on both sides.
CSA-certified or UL-listed
The certification marks the Electrical Safety Authority requires on a sauna heater sold into the Canadian market. An uncertified heater ordered from outside Canada is one an electrician here cannot energize, whatever it cost.
Breaker sizing
The rule that a heater's breaker is rated well above the current the heater actually draws. It is why the circuit a kit needs is set by the heater you picked and cannot be trimmed after the fact.
Wood-fired stove
A stove burning wood rather than drawing power. It removes the 240V circuit from the project entirely and replaces it with a chimney, stones and clearance requirements, so it is a different budget rather than a cheaper one.

What else should you price before you decide?

What else do people ask about sauna kit cost?

How much does a sauna heater cost in Canada?

Sauna Depot, a Canadian retailer, publishes Harvia electric heaters from $1,268.00 for a 1.9 kW Vega Compact, through $1,947.00 for a 6 kW Cilindro and $2,116.00 for a 9 kW Cilindro, up to $4,776.00 for a 16 kW Virta Pro, all in Canadian dollars.

What size sauna heater do I need?

It is set by the room volume. Ottawa Electric states heater sizes range from about 3.5 kW for a small room up to 9 kW or more for a large sauna. The heater then sets the circuit: a 6 kW heater at 240V draws 25A, and code requires a breaker rated at least 150% of that, typically 40A with 8-gauge wire.

How much does a sauna room kit cost?

A Toronto renovation firm prices prefab Finnish kits at $5,000 to $12,000 for a 4 ft x 5 ft to 5 ft x 7 ft footprint and $8,000 to $18,000 for 6 ft x 8 ft to 8 ft x 8 ft. SaunaFin in Concord ON states its cheapest 1 to 2 person saunas cost just over $2,000 and its 6 to 8 person models run $8,000 to $12,000.

Why do two heaters with the same kW cost different amounts?

Model family, materials, stone capacity and whether controls are built in. At 6 kW, one Canadian retailer lists The Wall at $1,763.00, the Cilindro at $1,947.00 and the Spirit at $2,602.00. Compare stone capacity and control compatibility, not just output.

Do I need a separate controller?

Depends on the heater. Some Harvia models carry built-in controls at roughly $300 more than the same family without them. Others need a wall controller, and Ontario code requires a timed cut-off switch set to a maximum of one hour with no override, so the control has to support that.

Can I import a cheaper sauna heater from the US?

Check certification first. A Toronto renovation firm states that ESA requires sauna heaters to be CSA-certified or UL-listed for the Canadian market. A heater that is not certified is one your Licensed Electrical Contractor cannot energize, and duty plus exchange often erases the sticker saving anyway.

What does a wood-burning sauna stove cost?

No Canadian retailer we fetched published a wood stove price. A US retailer, Topture, lists a Harvia M3 stove at US$969 and the complete M3 kit with chimney and stones at US$2,580, with stone sets at US$60 to US$120. Those are US dollars, so treat them as reference and get a Canadian quote.

What accessories should I budget for beyond the kit and heater?

Stones, a controller, lighting and bench hardware. A Canadian retailer lists a sauna LED light kit at $399.00 CAD and an accessory bundle at $999.00 CAD. A US retailer prices HUUM UKU controllers at US$1,000 to US$2,250 and stone sets at US$60 to US$120.

What should you ask before you commit to sauna kit work?

  • Do you build and fit this yourselves, or sell the kit and leave the fitting to me?
  • What does it sit on: a gravel base, deck blocks, a slab, or existing framing, and who prepares it? What a sauna build costs
  • What heater size did you calculate for this shell or room, and on which circuit?
  • Who runs the electrical, and is the ESA permit inside your price?
  • What is the warranty term on the heater compared with the cabin or the cedar?