Outdoor Sauna Cost in Toronto: What 2026 Prices Actually Look Like

Last updated: By The SaunaIndex Bench

A cedar barrel sauna alone in a snow-covered back yard at blue hour, snow banked on its curved roof, one small amber-lit window in its door and no other light in the yard.

According to Great Canadian Saunas (Flesherton, ON), cedar barrel sauna, 7 ft diameter, 4 ft to 12 ft long, delivered and professionally installed runs $5,495–$9,495 per sauna, CAD in the Greater Toronto Area. Add 13% HST, and read the full outdoor sauna table below for the line items behind that range.

An outdoor sauna quote is really three quotes stacked: the unit itself, the base it sits on, and getting power out to it. Barrel, cabin and cube shells vary in price, but the base and the electrical run vary more, and they are the two lines most often left off a headline figure. Wood-fired heat swaps the circuit for a chimney and clearances. Ask what the quote includes before comparing two of them.

What does an outdoor sauna cost, line by line?

This range rests on 5 independent named sources and 9 priced rows, every one of them Canadian. Every figure was re-read in the page it cites before publication, and each row shows the condition its source attached to it. Where sources disagreed we show both rather than average them.

Where a backyard sauna quote sits against the published kit prices it is competing with. Each bar runs from the low to the high its named source published, drawn to scale on its own axis. 6 of the 9 priced rows on this page are drawn: 3 are the only rows priced in their unit, so there is nothing to compare them against. Those figures are all in the table below, each with the source it came from. 5 of the drawn rows are a single published figure rather than a range, and are marked as an upright rather than a bar. That is the source being exact, not this page rounding.

per kit, CAD

  • Barrel sauna kit, Canadian Timber Harmony 6 ft x 6 ft, kit only$7,509
  • Barrel sauna kit, Canadian Timber Tranquility, kit only$8,226
  • Pod sauna kit, Canadian Timber MiniPOD, kit only$7,483
  • Cabin sauna kit, Canadian Timber Granby, kit only$8,066.10
  • Cabin sauna kit, Canadian Timber Georgian with porch, kit only$12,909
  • Panoramic-window cedar barrel sauna, kit only$13,729–$14,999
Outdoor Sauna costs in the Greater Toronto Area, August 2026: 9 priced rows from 5 named sources, each re-read in the page it cites. Canadian dollars. Ontario HST of 13% sits on top unless a row says otherwise.
ItemTypical range
Cedar barrel sauna, 7 ft diameter, 4 ft to 12 ft long, delivered and professionally installedGreat Canadian Saunas (Flesherton, ON)$5,495–$9,495per sauna, CADDelivery and professional installation are included, but only within 500 km of Flesherton ON, which covers the GTA. The builder prints no currency beside its prices and does not state whether HST is included.
Barrel sauna kit, Canadian Timber Harmony 6 ft x 6 ft, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$7,509–$7,509per kit, CADKit only. Delivery, foundation, assembly and the electrical run are all extra. The retailer also runs a members-only "VIP pricing" scheme, so the shelf price is not necessarily the price every buyer pays.
Barrel sauna kit, Canadian Timber Tranquility, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$8,226–$8,226per kit, CADKit only, as above. This is the dearest of the retailer's Canadian Timber barrel kits.
Pod sauna kit, Canadian Timber MiniPOD, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$7,483–$7,483per kit, CADKit only. A pod shell of this price sits alongside the plainer barrels rather than below them.
Cabin sauna kit, Canadian Timber Granby, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$8,066.10–$8,066.10per kit, CADKit only. The retailer lists two larger cabins alongside it: the Georgian at $10,300.00 and the Georgian with porch at $12,909.00.
Cabin sauna kit, Canadian Timber Georgian with porch, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$12,909–$12,909per kit, CADKit only, and the dearest cabin on the list. The plain Georgian without the porch is listed separately at $10,300.00.
Panoramic-window cedar barrel sauna, kit onlyBackyard Canada (Canadian retailer)$13,729–$14,999per kit, CADThe low figure is a sale price and the high is the retailer's own regular price for the same sauna, so this is one product on sale rather than a range across models. Kit only.
Electrical work for a backyard sauna: 240V circuit plus trenchingOttawa Electric (Ontario electrical contractor)$2,000–$5,000per job, CADThe published high carries a "+", so $5,000 is not a ceiling. This is an Ottawa contractor's own price band, not a GTA one, and the same page notes an ESA permit is required and a building permit is possible for a structure over 15 m2.
ESA Notification of Work for the new sauna circuitRenoHouse (Toronto renovation firm)$88–$250per notification, CADThe $88 is the 2026 minimum for a residential notification and the high carries a "+", so neither end is fixed. A re-inspection after a failed first attempt costs extra. The Licensed Electrical Contractor files this, so it usually arrives inside the electrician's invoice rather than as a separate bill.

What are you actually buying, and in what order?

A backyard sauna quote is three quotes stacked, and they are rarely quoted by the same person. Reading a single figure without knowing which of the three it covers is how two honest bids end up looking thousands apart.

The unit

The only part with a shelf price.

  • A barrel, pod or cabin shell
  • Shape and glazing carry clear premiums over a plain barrel
  • The shelf price may not be the price you pay
  • It arrives crated on a freight truck and is not hand carried

The base

Almost never in a kit price.

  • The pad the sauna sits on
  • Rear and side lot line setbacks, confirmed with the City
  • Toronto's 10 square metre accessory-structure threshold
  • A permit regardless of size if it is attached or has plumbing

The power

Priced by an electrician, not by the seller.

  • Distance from the electrical panel to the sauna
  • Trenching and a long cable run
  • A breaker and wire sized to the heater
  • An ESA Notification of Work, filed before the job starts
An outdoor sauna, in the order the money leaves. Every item is a line this page states somewhere below. No figures here: those are in the table above, each beside the source that published it.

What drives the price?

Shape, size and finish set the sticker price, but the electrical run, the base and whether delivery and assembly are included are what actually separate two outdoor sauna quotes for the same job. Each factor below is tied to a figure in the table above.

  • Whether the price is a kit or a delivered-and-installed sauna. Great Canadian Saunas includes professional delivery and installation up to 500 km from Flesherton ON; every kit price on this page excludes all three.
  • Distance from the electrical panel to the sauna. Trenching and a long cable run are what push an outdoor electrical quote toward the top of its band, which Ottawa Electric publishes as $2,000 to $5,000+.
  • Heater size. Ottawa Electric puts sauna heaters at about 3.5 kW for a small room up to 9 kW or more for a large one, on a 30 to 60 amp breaker at 240V.
  • Breaker and wire sizing. Ottawa Electric works it through: a 6 kW heater at 240V draws 25A, and code requires a breaker rated at least 150% of that, typically a 40A breaker with 8-gauge wire. Bigger heaters need bigger wire.
  • Shape and glazing. Cabin and pod shells and panoramic glass ends carry clear premiums over a plain barrel on the same retailer's list.
  • Whether the seller's shelf price is the price you pay. Backyard Canada runs a members-only "VIP pricing" scheme, and its panoramic model is listed at a sale price against a higher regular one.
  • Site access. A crated sauna arrives on a freight truck and does not get hand carried. No Canadian seller we fetched publishes a delivery upgrade price, so ask for it in writing.
  • Size relative to Toronto's 10 square metre accessory-structure threshold, which decides whether you need a building permit.

What's specific to Ontario and Toronto?

Three Ontario rules cost real money here: 13% HST on top of every price below, an ESA Notification of Work filed by a licensed contractor before any new circuit, and a City of Toronto building permit for an accessory structure over 10 square metres. Each is quoted from its own source below.

  • City of Toronto building permit: a permit is required to "Construct an accessory structure larger than 10 square meters (107 square feet) in area". A small backyard sauna under that size may not need one, but check before you order.
  • Toronto adds a hard exception: "If you are constructing an accessory structure and it is attached to an existing building and/or has plumbing, regardless of its size, a building permit is required."
  • Ontario electrical: "In Ontario, almost all electrical work must be reported to the ESA through a Notification of Work - filed before the job starts, not after" (Ottawa Electric). The Licensed Electrical Contractor files it, not the homeowner.
  • Ontario Electrical Safety Code timer rule: "the Ontario Electrical Safety Code requires a timed cut-off switch on sauna heaters, set to a maximum of one hour with no override" (Ottawa Electric).
  • Circuit sizing: "A 6 kW heater at 240V draws 25A, so code requires a breaker rated at least 150% of that - typically a 40A breaker with 8-gauge wire" (Ottawa Electric).
  • ESA Notification of Work fees, published by a Toronto renovation firm: "Minimum residential Notification of Work: ~$88 (2026)" with "Larger or more complex jobs: $150-$250+", and an extra fee if a first inspection fails. That row is priced in the table above.
  • Ontario HST is 13%. None of the sauna suppliers we fetched stated whether their listed prices include it, so ask before you budget.
  • Zoning still applies even where no building permit is needed. Confirm rear and side lot line setbacks with the City before you pour a pad.

How can I pay less?

The biggest saving is comparing like with like: a kit price and a delivered-and-installed price are not the same number, and the gap is usually thousands. After that it is siting, timing and asking what a quoted figure already includes. Every tip below points at a figure in the table.

  • Compare like with like. A $7,509 kit is not cheaper than a $5,495 delivered-and-installed sauna once you add freight, a pad and assembly labour.
  • Get the electrical quoted before you buy the cabin. An Ontario contractor's published band for the backyard run is $2,000 to $5,000+, and it does not scale down just because you picked a smaller sauna.
  • Ask two or three GTA electricians rather than budgeting off this page. The only published Ontario band we could verify is an Ottawa firm's, and Toronto labour and trenching are their own market.
  • Keep the sauna under Toronto's 10 square metre accessory-structure threshold if you can, and keep plumbing out of it, and you may avoid a building permit entirely.
  • Site the sauna as close to the panel as the yard allows. Trenching and long cable runs are what push an outdoor electrical quote toward the top of its range.
  • Ask whether the shelf price is the real price. Backyard Canada runs a members-only VIP pricing scheme, so the number on the collection page may not be the price you can actually get.
  • Choose a plain barrel over a panoramic-glass model if budget is tight. On one Canadian retailer's list that single choice is a $6,220 difference between the $7,509 Harmony and the $13,729 panoramic.
  • Confirm in writing whether delivery, installation, HST and the heater are inside the quoted price. Suppliers differ, and the difference is thousands.

How did we research these numbers?

Every price on this page was found in the cited page's own text before it was published, and each row records the sentence it came from. Where a source could not be read, or priced in a currency other than Canadian dollars, the row was removed rather than converted or estimated. Here is what that left, and what it cost us.

  • Every figure in the table above was re-found in the cited page's own text before it was published, and each row records the sentence it came from. Where a source published only a range we print the range; this page carries no "typical" column, because none of these sellers publishes a typical price and an average of two different saunas is not the typical price of either.
  • A backyard sauna is really two purchases. The cabin is the visible one and the electrical run is the one people forget. Great Canadian Saunas lists finished barrel saunas from $5,495 to $9,495 with delivery and installation included inside 500 km of Flesherton ON, and a separate 240V circuit still has to be run out to it.
  • Kit-only pricing and delivered-and-installed pricing are not comparable. Backyard Canada's Canadian Timber kits run $7,483 to $12,909 depending on shape, but those are kits: no delivery, no foundation, no assembly. Great Canadian Saunas' figures already include professional delivery and installation.
  • Cabin and pod shapes cost more than plain barrels of similar capacity. On Backyard Canada's own list the Harmony 6 ft x 6 ft barrel kit is $7,509 while the Granby cabin is $8,066.10 and the Georgian cabin with a porch is $12,909.
  • Big glass adds a step change in price. The same retailer lists a Panoramic View Cedar Barrel Sauna at $13,729 on sale against a $14,999 regular price, where its plain Harmony barrel kit is $7,509.
  • The electrical figure on this page is honest about where it comes from: $2,000 to $5,000+ is Ottawa Electric's published band for a backyard sauna, and Ottawa Electric works in Ottawa, not the GTA. We publish it because it is a named Ontario contractor's own price list, and we flag it because a Toronto trench is not necessarily an Ottawa trench. Get the electrical quoted locally before you buy the cabin.
  • Three things this guide used to price and no longer does. A Toronto and GTA electrician's page we previously cited for the 240V run and for a DCC energy manager now answers automated requests with a bot challenge and an empty page, so we cannot re-read the figures we attributed to it and both rows were removed rather than left standing on a source nobody can check. Four foundation, compactor and freight rows came from a US retailer in US dollars; they were removed rather than converted, because a US labour market does not price a Toronto gravel pad. No Canadian supplier we fetched publishes a foundation or crane price, so this guide does not quote one.
  • Great Canadian Saunas does not print CAD next to its prices and does not state whether tax is included. Backyard Canada's listings are in Canadian dollars. Ontario HST of 13% sits on top unless a seller says otherwise. Confirm tax and delivery scope in writing before you sign.

Sources

Who should you call about outdoor sauna work?

SaunaIndex tracks 38 sauna companies across the Greater Toronto Area, rated 4.6★ on average. The three below rank highest on our review-weighted score, based on SaunaIndex's analysis of 38 Greater Toronto Area businesses, August 2026. Each profile carries its own quote request.

  • SONCE HOMES, photograph from its own Google Business listing

    SONCE HOMES

    Serves East Gwillimbury · Builds and installs · Every day, hours vary by day

    • Saunas
    • Says it is licensed
    • Says it is insured

    Builds saunas · 4 photos on its Google listing

    5.049 reviewsRated 5.0 out of 5 from 49 Google reviews

    77/100 SaunaIndex Score

  • SaunaFin, photograph from its own Google Business listing

    SaunaFin

    Serves Vaughan · Retailer · Mon to Fri, hours vary by day

    • Saunas
    • Cold Plunge & Ice Baths
    • Says it has been going since 1962
    • Says it stocks TyloHelo

    Sells saunas and cold plunge & ice baths · 4 photos on its Google listing

    4.6211 reviewsRated 4.6 out of 5 from 211 Google reviews

    75/100 SaunaIndex Score

  • Sauna Central, photograph from its own Google Business listing

    Sauna Central

    Serves Vaughan · Builds and installs · Hours not listed

    • Saunas
    • Cold Plunge & Ice Baths
    • Says it stocks Harvia

    Builds saunas and cold plunge & ice baths · 4 photos on its Google listing

    5.0209 reviewsRated 5.0 out of 5 from 209 Google reviews

    75/100 SaunaIndex Score

See all 38 sauna companies on SaunaIndex

What do these pricing terms mean?

Most of the confusion in outdoor sauna quotes comes from a handful of words that look interchangeable and are not. These are the ones that change the number.

Kit-only price
The price of the sauna parts alone. Delivery, the foundation it sits on, assembly labour and the electrical run are all extra, which is why a kit can list higher than a finished sauna and still be the cheaper line on paper.
Delivered and installed price
A price that already includes getting the sauna to you and putting it together. It is the only figure directly comparable to a contractor's quote, and it still excludes the electrical circuit.
Barrel sauna
A cylindrical sauna, usually cedar, held together with steel bands. It costs less than a framed cabin of the same bench capacity, because the curve carries itself and needs no framing.
Cabin sauna
A square or rectangular sauna with a pitched or flat roof, sometimes with a porch. It costs more than a barrel of similar capacity because it is framed rather than curved.
Accessory structure
The City of Toronto's term for a detached building in a yard. A permit is required above 10 square metres, and regardless of size if it is attached to a building or has plumbing.
ESA Notification of Work
The filing an Ontario Licensed Electrical Contractor makes to the Electrical Safety Authority before starting electrical work. It is not optional, the homeowner does not file it, and it carries its own fee.

What else should you price before you decide?

What else do people ask about outdoor sauna cost?

How much does an outdoor sauna cost in Toronto?

An Ontario builder, Great Canadian Saunas, lists cedar barrel saunas from $5,495 for a 7 ft x 4 ft up to $9,495 for a 7 ft x 12 ft with a change room, with professional delivery and installation included within 500 km of Flesherton ON, which covers the GTA. Kit-only prices from Backyard Canada run $7,483 to $12,909 depending on shape, with delivery, foundation and assembly all extra. On top of either, budget for a 240V circuit.

What does the electrical work cost for a backyard sauna?

The only Ontario electrician's band we could verify against its own published page is Ottawa Electric, which lists $2,000 to $5,000+ for a backyard or outdoor sauna needing a 240V circuit plus trenching. That is an Ottawa firm's pricing, not a GTA one, so treat it as an Ontario reference point and get two local quotes. Distance from the panel and trenching drive most of the difference.

Do I need a building permit for a backyard sauna in Toronto?

The City of Toronto requires a permit to construct an accessory structure larger than 10 square metres (107 square feet). It also states that if the structure is attached to an existing building or has plumbing, a permit is required regardless of size. Zoning setbacks apply either way, so confirm with the City before you order.

Is a kit cheaper than a delivered and installed sauna?

Not always. Backyard Canada lists Canadian Timber kits from $7,483 for a MiniPOD and $7,509 for the Harmony barrel up to $12,909 for a Georgian cabin with a porch, and those are kits only. Great Canadian Saunas lists finished saunas from $5,495 to $9,495 with delivery and installation included. Add freight, a foundation and assembly labour before you compare.

What foundation does an outdoor sauna need and what does it cost?

It needs a level, drained base, usually a compacted gravel pad or a poured slab. We do not publish a price for it. No Canadian supplier we fetched publishes a foundation figure, and this guide previously carried US retailer pricing in US dollars, which we removed rather than convert: a US labour market does not price a Toronto pad. Ask your sauna supplier what base they require and get it quoted locally.

How big a heater does an outdoor sauna need?

Ottawa Electric puts sauna heaters at about 3.5 kW for a small room up to 9 kW or more for a large sauna, on a 30 to 60 amp breaker at 240V. It adds that a 6 kW heater at 240V draws 25A, so code requires a breaker rated at least 150% of that, typically a 40A breaker with 8-gauge wire.

Does an ESA notification apply to a backyard sauna?

Yes, for the new circuit. Ottawa Electric states that in Ontario almost all electrical work must be reported to the ESA through a Notification of Work, filed before the job starts, and that the Licensed Electrical Contractor you hire files it. A Toronto renovation firm publishes the minimum residential notification fee at about $88 for 2026, rising to $150 to $250+ on larger or more complex jobs, with an extra fee if a first inspection fails.

How much does a glass-fronted or panoramic barrel sauna cost?

Backyard Canada lists a Panoramic View Cedar Barrel Sauna at $13,729 on sale against a $14,999 regular price, where its plain Harmony 6 ft x 6 ft barrel kit is $7,509. Large glass ends are one of the biggest single price steps in the outdoor sauna category.

What should you ask before you commit to outdoor sauna work?

  • Do you build and fit this yourselves, or sell the kit and leave the fitting to me?
  • What does it sit on: a gravel base, deck blocks, a slab, or existing framing, and who prepares it? What a sauna build costs
  • What heater size did you calculate for this shell or room, and on which circuit?
  • Who runs the electrical, and is the ESA permit inside your price?
  • What is the warranty term on the heater compared with the cabin or the cedar?